About

OUTC is one of the largest and most active clubs on campus. Aside from tramping (hiking) we’re also into climbing, mountain biking, daywalking and aquanauting. In addition to this there is a very lively social side to the Club too. OUTC exists to encourage people to get into the outdoors, learn new skills through various courses and become competent leaders, all while having heaps of fun. We are very lucky to live in New Zealand surrounded by spectacular scenery, a great network of tracks and huts and opportunities for off track missions and new adventures. Members of the OUTC head into this wilderness every weekend, whether it be the Silverpeaks, Fiordland or even the notorious Copland hotpools. The OUTC has a wide range of social events including our weekly Happy Hour, Wednesday Walkies and other daytrips, slideshows, potlucks and parties, annual dinner and awards and our infamous Bushball.

The OUTC is run by students just like you, not professional guides. We encourage new members to get involved, by leading trips and helping the committee. Trips are subject to the Club safety policy whereby the Safety Committee and other experienced Club members offer advice on trip plans to ensure trips are safe and enjoyable for all. The OUTC also offers a variety of instructional courses with some run by experienced Club members such as bushcraft, leadership and snowcraft.

OUTC publishes a journal ‘Antics’ each year and every member receives a copy with their membership. In addition to this, OUTC has published ’45 Years of Antics’ – click on the link to check out how you can order your very own copy.

So, if you’d like to find out more about our fantastic club, come along to one of our drop in times or email us.  Drop in times are every Tuesday 5:00-6pm and Friday, 12:30-1:30pm in the club gear room, Clubs and Societies Building on Albany St.

The club is run by a committee of keen trampers, elected every year by the membership.  For 2016 the committee is:

President: Chris Greenan – president@outc.org.nz

Vice President: Tim Wareing 

Secretary: Ella Borrie  –  secretary@outc.org.nz

Patron:  Penzy Dinsdale- patron@outc.org.nz

Treasurers: Natasha SpillaneJohanna Tonnon

Gear OfficersReuben Storr, Cara-Lisa Schlootsgear@outc.org.nz

Maintenance Officer: James Waetford

Climbing Officer: Rowan Cox –  climbing@outc.org.nz

Membership/Web Officer: Rupert Wockner  – webmaster@outc.org.nz

Social OfficersLottie Armstrong, Anna Murdoch

Environmental Officer: Torea Scott-Fyfe

Training Officer: Jamie Gardner

Antics Editor: Meg Buddle, Tanja de Wilde – antics2016@outc.org.nz

Safety Officer: Luke Gardener – safety@outc.org.nz

General Exec:  Anna Murdoch, Katherine Sarcich, Conor Geany, Beth Walker, Nic Davies, Jeremy Metherell, Charlotte Crisford